The Student Government of John Carroll University – Leading and Serving the Student Body Since 1920


The Establishment of the John Carroll University Student Government

Founded on January 31, 1920, the Student Government of John Carroll University is the official student government organization representing all undergraduate students, full and part-time, day and evening. The Student Government provides the student body with official representation to the university community and is the means for concentrated student concern and activity in academics, social life, religious affairs and development, disciplinary matters, and a variety of other areas.

The Student Government is structured so that every student of John Carroll University is a member. This guarantees every student the right to discuss and to speak out on issues facing the student and university communities.

The mission of the John Carroll University Student Government is to ensure a just and united campus community while empowering the student body to live the Jesuit mission of leadership and service. The Student Government focuses primarily on student advocacy, collaboration, and communication, all to achieve the desired goal of community.

Past Presidents of the organization include such well-known alumni as Tom Murphy ’67, Mayor of the City of Pittsburgh; Tim Russert ’72, NBC Senior Vice President and host of Meet the Press; Tim Cavanagh ’84, partner of Lloyd & Cavanagh Attorneys at Law in Chicago; and John Cranley ’96, Mayor of the City of Cincinnati.

A complete listing of Student Union Past Presidents can be found by following this link:

Past Presidents


The Student Government Today

Our mission is to ensure a just and united campus community while empowering the student body to live the Jesuit mission of leadership and service.

The Student Government strives to uphold the values of and represent the needs of the student body. We welcome every individual’s opinion and want students to express their concerns to us. We will gladly listen to you express your opinion about your University. Student Government has a voice and can be heard on nearly all University committees, including the Board of Directors and University Planning Group. We use this representation to better the lives of YOU, the John Carroll students.

If you are interested in becoming more involved with your student government, feel free to attend any Senate meeting held every Tuesday at 5 p.m. in the Murphy Room of DJ Lombardo Student Center. Elections for executive board positions and senate seats take place each November and December.

After existing as the John Carroll Student Union for the past 99 years, this body’s name was changed to Student Government on February 19, 2019. This name change was put into effect in order to better represent the student body while still fulfilling this organization’s role as the liaison between the administration and the student body.

Let the organization that represents YOU hear YOUR VOICE!


Executive Board

The executive Board of the Student Government is responsible for overseeing the functions, services, and activities that the branches of the Student Union provide.

They meet as a group on Thursdays at 5pm in the Student Government Office and spend many hours working individually to ensure that the Student Union keeps operating correctly and efficiently.

The Executive Board is here to serve you, the students of John Carroll University. We work hard each and every day to ensure that your voice is heard. Feel free to contact us with your questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions.


Executive President

Mike Bishop

Executive Vice President

Maddie Tobolewski

Vice President for Business Affairs

Sara Girard

Vice President for Judicial Affairs

Brianna Sweeney

Vice President for Student Organizations

Kyle Blasinsky

Vice President for Programming

Eddie Jenkins

Vice President for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Leah VanDine

Vice President for Communications

Lauren Phillip