Saint Edmund Campion (1540-1581) was a scholar, priest, hero of the faith and martyr who was hanged by Queen Elizabeth I after he refused to renounce his Catholic faith. Campion Hall was built in 1990 but was not dedicated as “Campion Hall” until November 13, 1993. Alumni of John Carroll will remember Campion Hall as “Gnu Hall,” the name borne by the hall until it was officially dedicated. The hall houses more than 300 residents. Campion Hall was named after Campion High School and College, which were established in Prairie Du Chien, Wisconsin in 1880. The college was phased out in 1925, while the high school flourished through the late 1960s. This all-male boarding school was sadly closed in 1975. Campion High School boasts 6,500 alumni and the college boasts about 500. Hundreds of these alumni have attended John Carroll. John Carroll has been the recipient of the beneficence of one of the college alumni, F.J. O’Neil. In recognition of the F.J. O’Neil family, Campion Hall is dedicated to Saint Edmund Campion and the institution that bore his name.
Campion Hall at-a-glance:
- Bunked beds (photo & measurements)
- Loftable bed (only in Triples) (photo & measurements)
- Wardrobe (one per person) (photo & measurements)
- Dresser (one per person) (photo & measurements)
- Desk and chair (one per person) (photo & measurements)
- Bookshelf (one per person) (photo & measurements)
- Wastebasket and recycling bin
- Memo board next to the entrance
Common areas and other building amenities
- Main kitchen for resident use adjacent to large TV lounge on each level and study rooms on each wing, pool table, piano, laundry, vending
- Screens are provided for rooms on the ground floor (rooms 002-032). We recommend purchasing an expandable screen from your local home supply store for windows without screens.
- Each room has at least two windows, side-by-side (photo & measurements)
- Chi Omega sorority wing, Gamma Phi Beta sorority wing, Kappa Alpha Theta sorority wing, Delta Tau Delta fraternity wing