The Political Communication Concentration is open to all students. Students combine courses in journalism, electronic media, and rhetoric, with classes in American or Foreign Area politics to develop the critical and analytical knowledge by which to make sense of political communication.  Political Communication prepares students for the study of, or careers in, politics or political journalism.

This concentration consists of a total of 24 credit hours.  Students are to choose whether to pursue the path of U.S. domestic politics or the path in foreign politics and international relations (IR).

Courses for the U.S. Path

Required (6 credit hours)

  • CO 225  Journalism
  • PO 101  U. S. Politics

(9 credit hours, with at least one at the 400-level)

  • PO 301  U.S. Congress
  • PO 302  Public Administration
  • PO 309  Budget and Social Welfare Policies
  • PO 317  Judicial Process
  • PO 319  U.S. Elections
  • PO 410  American Presidency

Courses for the Foreign Politics and IR Path

Required (6 credit hours):

  • CO 225  Journalism
  • PO 102  Comparative Politics
    PO 103  International Relations

(9 credit hours, with at least one at the 400-level)

  • PO 311  U.S. Foreign Policy
  • PO 326  Comparative Politics of the Middle East
  • PO 330  International Politics of the Middle East
  • PO 332  African Politics
  • PO 334  International Institutions, Law, and  Human Rights
  • PO 336  International Political Economy
  • PO 345  Japanese Politics
  • PO 346  Chinese Politics
  • PO 356  Political Transformation:Case Studies From Latin America
  • PO 458  Topics in Political Development

Required Courses for both the U.S. and Foreign/IR paths
(9 credit hours with at least one at the 400-level):

  • CO 319  Television Production
  • CO 341  Perspectives in Contemporary American Political Discourse
  • CO 346  Campaign Issues and Images
  • CO 380  International Journalism
  • CO 441  Rhetorical Theory and Criticism
  • CO 449  Politics, Public Policy, and the Media
  • CO 467  Communications and the First Amendment

Coordinators: Dr. Douglas Bruce, The Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts;  Drs. Dwight Hahn and Elizabeth Stiles, Department of Political Science.