The Kathleen L. Barber Scholastic Achievement Award is given annually to senior political science majors who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in the discipline of political science. This award honors those seniors whose work reflects scholastic excellence, and whose scholastic achievements are complemented by a noteworthy commitment to service and initiatives connecting classroom experience to the local community and the world.

The John V. Czerapowicz International Relations Award is given to graduating seniors who have achieved academic excellence in the study of international relations and participated in activities related to foreign affairs.

The Department of Political Science Exemplary Service Award is given to graduating seniors whose service and academic scholarship testify to the ideals embodied in the mission of John Carroll University.

The NBC/John Carroll University “Meet the Press” Fellowship, created to honor Tim Russert (JCU ’72), is awarded annually to a graduating senior from either The Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts or the Department of Political Science at John Carroll University. The student spends nine months at NBC’s “Meet the Press” headquarters working on the production of a weekly program and conducting collaborative research under the direction of the executive producer. The candidate must have a strong interest in political journalism and demonstrated political journalism experience through internships, campus media, or other outlets. More information about the fellowship can be obtained by contacting the Department of Political Science or the Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts. More information, as well as the application, is available here.