Athletics news


Scholar-athlete award winners chosen
JCU coaches and administrators selected Mackenzie Griffin ’13 (softball) and Lane Robilotto ’13G (football) recipients of the 2013 Clyde A. Lamb Scholar-Athlete Award given by the Ohio Athletic Conference. The award, given annually to one female and one male athlete from each OAC institution, is the highest honor bestowed upon any OAC student-athlete.

Griffin, a senior communications major from Lake Oswego, Ore., led the conference in batting average, hits, and doubles. During the NCAA Regionals last spring, she drove in the game-winning run for JCU’s first win in NCAA post-season play. A two-time All-OAC honoree, Griffin might hold as many as 10 individual school records. Her 3.71 GPA exemplifies her commitment in the classroom.


On Senior Day against Mount Union, Robilotto eclipsed the single-season record for receiving yards with 1,098. He also holds the all-time record for best game by a wideout, hauling in 10 catches for 267 yards and three touchdowns against Muskingum. Robilotto finished his senior year with 57 catches and eight touchdowns. The Painesville, Ohio, native graduated with a master’s of accountancy and a 3.80 GPA.

New hall of famers
Congratulations to the 2013 JCU Athletic Hall of Fame inductees:
Tom Arth ’03, football
Peggy Dempsey ’97, swimming
Beth Grzybowski Litten ’03, volleyball and track and field
Craig Recko ’01, baseball
Joe Runkel ’91, track and field
Gerry Shay ’02, swimming
Chad Stein ’01, track and field and basketball
Eric Urdzik ’03, wrestling and football
1962-’63 conference championship football team

The inductees will be honored Friday, Sept. 27, during the hall-of-fame induction and dinner ceremony and recognized during halftime of the Homecoming and Parents and Family home opener Saturday, Sept. 28, at 7 p.m. For more information about the inductees, visit

Leave a Reply

Comment moderation is enabled, no need to resubmit any comments posted.

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.