Center for Student Diversity & Inclusion

Cultural Student Organizations

Black Students in Action | Wednesdays | 7:30p
Murphy Hall Conference Room, Murphy Hall Residence Hall
   
The purpose of Black Students in Actionis to promote the recognition and involvement of African American students, students of African descent and students of other ethnicities at John Carroll University. The organization holds the intention of creating a strong voice on campus and to make an impact on the decisions regarding students of the JCU Community.   
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Dwight Venson dvenson17@jcu.edu
Vice President Emmanuel Brown ebrown19@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Devonta Milbry dmilbry19@jcu.edu
Secretary Zakiyah Malik zmalik19@jcu.edu
Marketing Chair Brittney Seals bseals17@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Sheri Young syoung@jcu.edu

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

African Dounia | Mondays | 6:30p
Muprhy Room, DJ Lombardo Student Center
 
The purpose of African Dounia seeks to promote the African continent, and its beautiful cultures and traditions.
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Marie Honorine Keita mkeita18@jcu.edu
Vice President Alpha Freeman afreeman19@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Amy Kato akato18@jcu.edu
Secretary Hope Uwase huwase19@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Tamba Nlandu tnlandu@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Agia Sophia | Meetings to be determined

This cultural group aims to promote Hellenic history, traditions, and culture throughout the campus of John Carroll University with the ultimate purpose of engaging and informing.  It also aims at bringing the members of the group closer to their Hellenic (Greek/Grecian) heritage and roots.  This group is not connected to Fraternity and Sorority Life.

POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Maria Ndini mndini18@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Constantine Madias cmadias17@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor George Vourlojianis gvourlojianis@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
 
Allies | Wednesdays, starting 9.7.16 |  8p | CSDI Lounge, DJ Lombardo Student Center
Allies is a group of LGBTQ persons and their supporters. We believe in the freedom and equality of all individuals and work to promote this in our daily lives. 
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Victoria Williams vwilliams18@jcu.edu
Vice President Mitchell Clifford mclifford18@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Lea Breckner lbreckner17@jcu.edu
Secretary Katie Atkins katkins19@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Elizabeth Stiles estiles@jcu.edu

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Hillel@JCU  | Meeting date, time, location TBD
 
Supporting Jewish students in the expression of their identity and providing opportunities for non-Jewish students to enhance their understanding of the Jewish world. 
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Nicholas Abdallah nabdallah19@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Ian Gould igould16@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Gail Arnoff garnoff@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Latin American Student Association (LASA) | Tuesdays | 7p
CSDI Lounge, DJ Lombardo Student Center
  

The primary purpose of LASA is to provide the opportunity for students of Latin American heritage and their friends to meet on a regular basis, organize activities, and increase the number of Latin American students on campus and the awareness of our presence and value to the University at large.

POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Carlos Cruz ccruz17@jcu.edu
Vice President Mikayla Ortiz mortiz18@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Christina Corrigan ccorrigan18@jcu.edu
Secretary/Marketing Chair Omar Meza omeza18@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Gloria Vaquera gvaquera@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Le Cercle Francais (French Club) | Thursdays: Bi-weekly | 8p
CSDI Lounge, DJ Lombardo Student Center
 

This organization was created to give students who are interested in the French language and French culture a place to get involved and learn more about the subject and interact with others who also have an interest in the French Culture. It was also created to give students who want to get involved more on campus a place where they could come up with their ideas, be listen to, make new friends and have a positive semester on campus. The Organization tries to get more involved on campus by having activities such a Mardi Gras dance or Christmas get together where every JCU students and their can come to. Le Cercle Francais was also created to bring a sense of community with each JCU students.

POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Brooke McQuinn bmcquinn19@jcu.edu
Financial Officer/ Vice President Mychaela Lauria mlauria19@jcu.edu
Secretary/Events Coordinator Margaret (Molly) McAfee mmcafee19@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Martha Pereszlenyi-Pinter mpereszlenyi@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Middle Eastern Student Association (MESA) | Wednesdays | 2p
AD-247, Administration Building
The purpose of the Middle Eastern Student Association (M.E.S.A.) of John Carroll University shall be to promote cultural, social, and educational activities in order to establish a greater awareness of the Middle East in the John Carroll community, as well as bringing students of all cultures together as an organization. 
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President/Financial Officer Seth NaumanShamatta snaumanshamatta18@jcu.edu
Vice President Carolyn Sicurella csicurella20@jcu.edu
Secretary Maaya Arbaji marbaji18@jcu.edu
Marketer Vacant Vacant
Public Relations Mariah Salloum msalloum17@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Mona DeBaz mdebaz@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Muslim Student Society (MSS) | Friday Prayer | 1:15p
Interfaith Prayer Room in Grasselli Library
The Muslim Student Society invites you to weekly Friday prayer service! We will be in the interfaith room (second floor of the library) at 1:15pm! All are welcome to observe and we highly encourage you to attend! 
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Anas Haroun aharoun18@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Ryan Proud rproud18@jcu.edu
Secretary Mualla Yazici myazici18@jcu.edu
Publicist Irfan Khan ikhan17@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Zeki Saritoprak zsaritoprak@jcu.edu
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
 
World Around You | Mondays: Bi-Weekly starting 9/12/16 | 7p
CSDI Lounge, DJ Lombardo Student Center
The purpose of World Around You is to provide cultural education and exploration by discussing different cultural factors (political, economics, etc.) thereby promoting diversity and maintaining a friendly environment. 
POSITION FIRST NAME LAST NAME CONTACT
President Solomiya (Miya) Tomkiv stomkiv18@jcu.edu
Vice President Suny Lee sylee17@jcu.edu
Financial Officer Maria Bukatin mbukatin17@jcu.edu
Faculty Advisor Elizabeth Antus eantus@jcu.edu