Grant supports entrepreneurship

John Carroll received a $42,350 grant from the Burton D. Morgan foundation to develop units on entrepreneurship/creativity into existing arts and science courses. This approach adds another dimension of entrepreneurial thinking on the campus and complements the strong, interdisciplinary entrepreneurship minor and co-curriculars sponsored by the Muldoon Center. This year, the John Carroll entrepreneurship program was ranked 18th nationally and 1st in Ohio for best undergraduate entrepreneurship program by the Bloomberg Businessweek.

The following faculty members were selected as Burton D. Morgan CAS Entrepreneurship Fellows:
• Denise Ben-Porath (Psychology)
• Jennifer Catellier (Communications and Theatre Arts)
• Doris Donnelly (Theology and Religious Studies)
• Duane Dukes (Sociology and Criminology)
• Penny Harris (Sociology and Criminology)
• Sharon Kaye (Philosophy)
• Malia McAndrews (History)
• Naveed Piracha (Physics)
• Sara Stashower (Communications and Theatre Arts)
• Elizabeth Stiles (Political Science)

Five of the faculty will be teaching their unit about entrepreneurship this spring, and five will teach this fall.

As part of the grant, the CAS Burton Fellows and other interested faculty participated in a workshop Jan. 19, 2013, about developing entrepreneurship/creativity in the liberal arts conducted by two national leaders in entrepreneurship education – Dr. Michael Morris, the N. Malone Mitchell Chair in Entrepreneurship and Head of the School of Entrepreneurship at Oklahoma State University, and Dr. Elizabeth Goldberg, Professor of English and Mandell Family Term Chair at Babson College.

– Jacqueline Schmidt, Project Manager and Interim Director of the entrepreneurship minor

Comments are closed.