There are currently five different levels of emergency medical care certification, ranging from least to most advanced:

  1. Emergency Medical Responder (EMR)
  2. EMT-Basic
  3. EMT-Intermediate
  4. EMT-Advanced
  5. Paramedic  

The training that John Carroll EMTs are given is for the EMR or EMT-Basic qualification, although those with previous training may also be accepted.  These EMRs and EMT-Basics are able to perform patient assessment and manage trauma and medical emergencies with skills such as CPR, defibrillation, airway adjuncts, taking vital signs, splinting, and assistance with administrations of some medication.