Timothy J. Peppard
Director/Chief of John Carroll University Police Department

Email: tpeppard@jcu.edu



Brian K. Hurd
Assistant Director

Email: bhurd@jcu.edu

Brian Hurd joined the John Carroll University Police Department in August of 2008. Previously, Brian was associate director of police & security services at Case Western Reserve University. Brian has been involved with campus security and policing since 1990, and has provided training and instruction in the areas of personal safety, physical security, crime prevention, event security, and emergency management. Brian holds a B.A. from Kent State University in political science and criminal justice, and is a Certified Protection Professional (CPP) through the American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS). He is a member of ASIS, the Ohio Crime Prevention Association, the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators, and is a board member of the Ohio Campus Law Enforcement Association. Brian’s responsibilities include: staff development, crime prevention, student conduct liaison, special events, policy development, and emergency response planning.

Matthew W. Goffos

Email: mgoffos@jcu.edu

Sgt Goffos began his career as a police officer at the John Carroll University in 1980 and was promoted to sergeant in 1985. He is a 1982 graduate of the Basic Police Academy at Case Western Reserve University. He is responsible for overseeing day shift operations and supervising officers during that time. Sgt. Goffos serves as part-time police officer with the Eastlake Police Department, works with the Juvenile Diversion program for the city, and works at the stadium for the Lake County Captains.

Ross Carbone

Email: rcarbone@jcu.edu

Sgt. Carbone began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2001 and was promoted to sergeant in 2008. After taking the Spring ’98 semester off to attend and graduate from the Cleveland Heights Police Academy, Sgt. Carbone graduated from JCU in 2000 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology, with a criminal justice concentration. Upon graduating, he received the John R. Carpenter Criminology Award for excellence in academic and field work experience in criminology, and also was inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta, the International Sociology Honors Society. Sgt. Carbone graduated with a Master of Arts degree in nonprofit administration from John Carroll University in 2013, when he was also inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the national Jesuit honor society. He is a member of the Greater Cleveland Safe Kids Organization and is the JCUPD representative for the Greater Cuyahoga Police F.O.P. Lodge #124. Sgt. Carbone is the liaison for JCUEMS and the advisor for the student organization, JCUEMSA. He is currently the JCUPD afternoon shift supervisor responsible for patrol operations during that time.

Timothy Costello

Sgt. Costello began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 1998. He is a graduate of Lakeland Community College and completed his basic police academy at the Cleveland Heights Police Academy. He has previously worked for police departments at Apple Creek, South Russell, Notre Dame College, and Cleveland Clinic. He is currently the JCUPD night shift supervisor responsible for patrol operations during that time.

Email: tcostello@jcu.edu

Brent W. Russ

Cpl. Russ began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2002 and was promoted to corporal in 2009. He is a 2001 graduate of Lakeland Community College, where he earned an Associate of Applied Science degree in criminal justice/law enforcement, while completing the basic police academy training that same year. He has prior police experience with the Geneva City Police Department and is currently employed with the Madison Village Police Department as a part-time officer.

Email: bruss@jcu.edu

Marc Butch

Cpl. Butch began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2008 and was promoted to corporal in 2014.  He is a 2002 graduate of Ohio Dominican University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Criminal Justice and a 2004 graduate of the Eastland Police Academy in Columbus, OH.  He serves as the JCUPD tech specialist and is currently a certified police instructor.

Email: mbutch@jcu.edu

Chris Hendricks

Email: chendricks@jcu.edu

Randy Divis
Police Officer

Email: rdivis@jcu.edu


Warren Grugle
Police Officer

Email: wgrugle@jcu.edu

Albert O’Keefe
Police Officer

Email: aokeefe@jcu.edu

Ronald J. Strazar
Police Officer

Email: rstrazar@jcu.edu

James Owens
Police Officer

Ptl. Owens began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2013. Jim earned his master’s degree at The University of Akron. He has over 33 years of law enforcement experience at the local, county, and federal levels. He has also taught criminal justice courses at Kent State University and the University of Akron, and is a certified firearms instructor and police academy commander with the state of Ohio.

Email: jowens@jcu.edu

Tyler Lawrentz
Police Officer

Email: tlawrentz@jcu.edu

Jonathan Paige
Police Officer

Email: jpaige@jcu.edu

Brittany McCune
Police Officer

Email: bmccune@jcu.edu

Edward R. Hocevar
Dispatcher/Safety Officer

Email: erhocevar@jcu.edu

Patricia A. Sheil
Dispatcher/Safety Officer

Email: psheil@jcu.edu

Patti Taylor
Parking Coordinator

Email: ptaylor@jcu.edu


Ted Russo
Gate Attendant

Emiddio Minnillo
Gate Attendant

Vivian Rivers
Van Driver

Tim Tomba
Van Driver

Jack Mannen
Van Driver

Denise Karlovec
Van Driver