Timothy J. Peppard

Director/Chief of John Carroll University Police Department

Email: tpeppard@jcu.edu

 


Brian K. Hurd

Assistant Director

Email: bhurd@jcu.edu

Brian Hurd joined the John Carroll University Police Department in August of 2008. Previously, Brian was associate director of police & security services at Case Western Reserve University. Brian has been involved with campus security and policing since 1990, and has provided training and instruction in the areas of personal safety, physical security, crime prevention, event security, and emergency management. Brian holds a B.A. from Kent State University in political science and criminal justice, and is a Certified Protection Professional (CPP) through the American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS). He is a member of ASIS, the Ohio Crime Prevention Association, the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators, and is a board member of the Ohio Campus Law Enforcement Association. Brian’s responsibilities include: staff development, crime prevention, student conduct liaison, special events, policy development, and emergency response planning.


Matthew W. Goffos

Sergeant

Email: mgoffos@jcu.edu

Sgt Goffos began his career as a police officer at the John Carroll University in 1980 and was promoted to sergeant in 1985. He is a 1982 graduate of the Basic Police Academy at Case Western Reserve University. He is responsible for overseeing day shift operations and supervising officers during that time. Sgt. Goffos serves as part-time police officer with the Eastlake Police Department, works with the Juvenile Diversion program for the city, and works at the stadium for the Lake County Captains.


Ross Carbone

Sergeant

Email: rcarbone@jcu.edu

Sgt. Carbone began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2001 and was promoted to sergeant in 2008. After taking the Spring ’98 semester off to attend and graduate from the Cleveland Heights Police Academy, Sgt. Carbone graduated from JCU in 2000 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology, with a criminal justice concentration. Upon graduating, he received the John R. Carpenter Criminology Award for excellence in academic and field work experience in criminology, and also was inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta, the International Sociology Honors Society. Sgt. Carbone graduated with a Master of Arts degree in nonprofit administration from John Carroll University in 2013, when he was also inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the national Jesuit honor society. He is a member of the Greater Cleveland Safe Kids Organization and is the JCUPD representative for the Greater Cuyahoga Police F.O.P. Lodge #124. Sgt. Carbone is the liaison for JCUEMS and the advisor for the student organization, JCUEMSA. He is currently the JCUPD night shift supervisor responsible for patrol operations during that time.


Timothy Costello
Corporal

Cpl. Costello began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 1998. He is a graduate of Lakeland Community College and completed his basic police academy at the Cleveland Heights Police Academy. He has previously worked for police departments at Apple Creek, South Russell, Notre Dame College, and Cleveland Clinic.

Email: tcostello@jcu.edu


Brent W. Russ
Corporal

Cpl. Russ began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2002 and was promoted to corporal in 2009. He is a 2001 graduate of Lakeland Community College, where he earned an Associate of Applied Science degree in criminal justice/law enforcement, while completing the basic police academy training that same year. He has prior police experience with the Geneva City Police Department and is currently employed with the Madison Village Police Department as a part-time officer.

Email: bruss@jcu.edu


 

Marc Butch

Police Officer

Email: mbutch@jcu.edu


Scott Cupar
Police Officer

Ptl. Cupar began his career as a Police Officer with the John Carroll University Police Department in 2012. In 2009 Scott graduated from Walsh University earning his Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology with a criminal justice concentration. He is a 2011 graduate of the Lakeland Community College Police Academy. Upon graduation, Ptl. Cupar achieved the Cadet of the Cycle award for his professionalism, appearance, and outstanding qualities demonstrated throughout the academy.

Email: scupar@jcu.edu


Warren L. Grugle
Police Officer

Email: wgrugle@jcu.edu


Chris Hendricks
Police Officer

Email: chendricks@jcu.edu


Adam Nunns
Police Officer

Ptl. Nunns began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2012. He is a graduate of Tiffin University where he earned his bachelor’s degree in criminal justice in 2010. He graduated from Basic Police Academy at Kent State University in 2012. While at Tiffin, he participated in varsity sports for both cross country and track and field.

Email: anunns@jcu.edu


Albert O’Keefe
Police Officer

Email: aokeefe@jcu.edu


James Owens
Police Officer

Ptl. Owens began his career as a police officer at John Carroll University in 2013. Jim earned his master’s degree at The University of Akron. He has over 33 years of law enforcement experience at the local, county, and federal levels. He has also taught criminal justice courses at Kent State University and the University of Akron, and is a certified firearms instructor and police academy commander with the state of Ohio.

Email: jowens@jcu.edu


Jonathan Paige
Police Officer

Email: jpaige@jcu.edu


Ronald J. Strazar
Police Officer

Email: rstrazar@jcu.edu


Edward R. Hocevar
Dispatcher/Safety Officer

Email: erhocevar@jcu.edu


Patricia A. Sheil
Dispatcher/Safety Officer

Email: psheil@jcu.edu


Leo Martin
Gate Attendant


Emiddio Minnillo
Gate Attendant


Vivian Rivers
Van Driver


Larry Rummel
Van Driver


Larry Rummel, Jr.
Van Driver


Eric Thompson
Van Driver


Tim Tomba
Van Driver


Patti Taylor
Parking Coordinator

Email: ptaylor@jcu.edu


Diane Gibson
Office Assistant

Email: dgibson@jcu.edu