College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Chemistry

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

CBruceYChaiPaul Challen
Chrystal D. Bruce, PhDYuh-Cherng Chai, PhDPaul R. Challen, PhD
Associate ProfessorAssociate ProfessorProfessor
Discipline:
Physical
Science Education
Discipline:
Biochemistry
Discipline:
Analytical
Inorganic
Physical
Research Area:
Computational physical
chemistry with
biological applications
Research Area:
Redox and thiol chemistry;
Protein post-translational
modification apoptosis and
signaling transductions
Research Area:
Inorganic and materials chemistry
Office: W309 Dolan
Phone: x4742
Email: cbruce@jcu.edu
Office: W208 Dolan
Phone: x4741
Email: ychai@jcu.edu
Office: W346 Dolan
Phone: x4793
Email: pchallen@jcu.edu
MKDoudP001130bDMascotti
M. Katie Doud, PhDM.L. "Desmond" Kwan, PhDDavid P. Mascotti, PhD
Visiting Assistant ProfessorAssociate ProfessorProfessor
Discipline:
Biochemistry
Inorganic
Discipline:
Organic
Discipline:
Biochemistry
Research Area:Research Area:
Green chemistry development;
Vinylsilane synthetic
methodology; Palladium
pincer complexes; ionic liquids
Research Area:
Interactions of Biological
Molecules, Regulation of
Gene Expression and
Transfer
Office: W344 Dolan
Phone: x4797
Email: mdoud@jcu.edu
Office: W306 Dolan
Phone: x4243
Email: mlkwan@jcu.edu
Office: W207 Dolan
Phone: x4216
Email: dmascotti@jcu.edu
MNicholsMike SetterMWaner
Michael A. Nichols, PhDMichael P. Setter, PhDMark J. Waner, PhD
Associate ProfessorAssistant Professor/ChairAssociate Professor
Discipline:
Organic
Discipline:
Analytical
Discipline:
Physical
Science Education
Research Area:
Organolithium chemistry;
mechanistic chemistry;
environmental water
chemistry; undergraduate
laboratory experiment
development
Research Area:
Electrochemistry;
Battery design
Research Area:
Biophysical chemistry;
lab development
Office: W345 Dolan
Phone: x4796
Email: mnichols@jcu.edu
Office: W302 Dolan
Phone: x1700
Email: msetter@jcu.edu
Office: W308 Dolan
Phone: x4791
Email: mwaner@jcu.edu

Full-Time Staff

Faith WhitworthJYour
Beth A. PierceFaith A. WhitworthJeffrey A. Your
Administrative AssistantLaboratory CoordinatorManager of Central Scientific Stores
& Laboratory Support Services
Office: W301 Dolan
Phone: x4241
Email: epierce@jcu.edu
Office: W323 Dolan
Phone: x4792
Email: fwhitworth@jcu.edu
Office: WG01 Dolan
Phone: x4244
Email: jyour@jcu.edu

Part-Time Faculty

RSimmonsSSinghamVVarnes
Reiko M. Simmons, PhDShermila Singham, PhDArthur W. Varnes, PhD
LecturerLecturerLecturer
Office: W312 Dolan
Phone: x1573
Email: rsimmons@jcu.edu
Office: W310 Dolan
Phone x3013
Email: ssingham@jcu.edu
Office: W310 Dolan
Phone: x3013
Email: avarnes@jcu.edu

Emeritus and In Memoriam