A Celebration of Scholarship

2013 Art Exhibit

The Art Exhibit will be featured in the Grasselli Library’s Tully Atrium the week of the Celebration.

Thanks to Grasselli Library for coordinating the Art Exhibit. Best of Show winners will receive a gift certificate to the Bookstore as selected by a committee from the John Carroll faculty, student, and staff/administrator community (see below for the committee).

Congratulations to our winners!

  • First Place: “Silver and Lace” by Debora Schmitt
  • Second Place: “Kayaks” by Carl Spitznagel
  • Third Place: “The Art of Growing Up” by Nikki Darty

The Artist Reception will be held on Thursday, April 11, 2013 at 1:00 p.m.

Anson, Cathy Ode to Cleveland
Darty, Nikki The Next Generation
Darty, Nikki The Art of Growing Up
Darty, Nikki The Chase
Ferlotti, Rebecca Training Wheels: Manaus, Brazil
Ferlotti, Rebecca The Secret Garden: Jerez, Spain
Ferlotti, Rebecca Irish Step:  County Clare, Ireland
Gohlsch, Stephanie Immokalee reflection 2013
Jackson, John Immokalee’s Young Violins
Kus, Sophie Immokalee My Home
Kus, Sophie Reflection on Immokalee Immersion 2013
Kus, Sophie Before the Time of iPads
Kus, Sophie Pink Snow
Marino, Ruta Contained Legacy
Pitingolo, Pat Purpose
Schmitt, Debora Sunflower
Schmitt, Debora Silver & Lace
Schmitt, Debora Purple Galinule
Sefcik, Joshua Life, Collage of my Current Life
Spitznagel, Carl The Poissonnerie: Half-timbered houses
in Alsatian Town of Colmar
Spitznagel, Carl Hote-L
(Rustic B & B in a Swiss alpine village)
Spitznagel, Carl Kayaks (Small boats on a like
Michigan beach)
Ward, Diane Giclee print documenting a year’s worth
of sketchbooking

STUDENT PHOTOGRAPHERS: The Tim Russert Department of Communication & Theatre Arts is holding their second annual photo contest. This year’s theme is “Frame Your World: The Environment.”  The deadline to submit is April 2. First, second and third prizes include Sony or Fuji digital cameras, supplied by Van’s Photo in Mentor. Three honorable mentions also will be awarded.

2013 Art Exhibit Judging Committee

  • Dr. Leslie Curtis
  • Sara Stashower
  • Connie Brooks
  • Nehemiah Jackson