The Roderick Boyd Porter* Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a John Carroll University undergraduate, graduating in December 2017 or spring/summer 2018, for their contribution to the Humanities. If you qualify for this award of $13,500 for tuition for your senior year of college, we urge you to apply:

To be eligible, students must:

  1. be a current junior who has attended John Carroll University full-time for at least three consecutive semesters and who expects to graduate in December 2017 or May or August 2018;
  2. have a 3.5 GPA or better;
  3. have a major or strong background in a Humanities** field;
  4. exhibit exemplary participation in campus and student organizations;
  5. complete an application that includes an essay and two recommendations from faculty. A competitive application will demonstrate a nuanced understanding of the Humanities and the candidate’s engagement with the Humanities.

All completed applications should be submitted no later than 5:00 pm, February 17th, 2017. The committee will interview three to five finalists and recommend candidates to the Provost for approval.

*Rod Porter was a singular individual, well-schooled and well-read, liberally educated in the Jesuit tradition, a student of the Classics and of classical languages, a superior writer, and a talented editor. Born in Columbus, Ohio in 1947, he graduated from John Carroll University in 1969 with a B.A. and honors in classics. He died of cancer in 1993. The Friends of Rod Porter ’69 established this annual scholarship in his honor.
**What are the “Humanities”? Broadly speaking, the Humanities are disciplines that study human culture. The primary academic disciplines of the Humanities include (but are not limited to) Arts, Classics, History, Languages, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion. Their approach to knowledge differs from the sciences, social sciences, and professional education.

Please feel free to contact members of the committee if you have any questions.
Porter Committee: Dr. Philip Metres (English), Dr. Deniz Durmus (Philosophy), Dr. Marcus Gallo (History), Dr. Angela Jones (Director of the Honors Program), Dr. Patrick Mooney (Philosophy), and Dr. Paul Nietupski (Theology and Religious Studies).
Posted on January 25, 2017