1886: The College opens under the name Saint Ignatius College.

1923: College’s name changes to John Carroll University to commemorate the Jesuit who became the first bishop of the United States.

1934: The Business Administration faculty established in College of Arts and Sciences.

1935: John Carroll University relocates to its current Cleveland suburb location in University Heights which includes an official Department of Business Administration.

1945: Department expands into the School of Business, Economics, and Government.

1957: The department’s name officially changes to School of Business.

1974: The School adds Graduate Programs in Business and initiates the Masters of Business Administration program.

1988: The School is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

1989: An endowment-funded renovation of the School of Business takes place, adding the Bruening Hall wing.

1994: The Department of Accountancy receives AACSB Accreditation.

1995: The School of Business celebrates its 50th anniversary.

1996: The School honors the generosity of John M. and Mary Jo Boler by renaming itself the John M. and Mary Jo Boler School of Business.

2001: The first Commencement of the Masters of Science in Accountancy graduate business program takes place.

2004: The M.B.A. program celebrates its 30th anniversary.