A team of students in John Carroll University’s Boler School of Business recently competed in the 2014 District 5 National Student Advertising Competition, sponsored by Mary Kay and the American Advertising Federation (AFF). The Boler team earned second place and was honored with the Judges’ Award for Best Guerrilla Advertising Tactic.

The AAF Education Services department and the AAF Academic Division govern the competition. Approximately 150 schools were invited to participate in 16 district competitions across the country. Each district contains colleges and universities from one to five states. John Carroll competed in District 5 against Cleveland State University, Marietta College, 
Marshall University, 
Murray State University, 
Ohio University, and 
University of Kentucky, 
Western Kentucky University, and Youngstown State University.

Professionals in the communications industry conducted judging for the district competition. Marshall University squeaked out a narrow one-point victory over JCU to advance and compete on the national level at the AAF National Conference in May.

Congratulations to all the JCU team members: Ryan Angers, Elizabeth Blackley, Clay Bowers, Matt Burke, Danielle Cappellino, Brian Church, Laura Cromwell, Caroline Daudlin, Matt Feeney, Alexandria Flynn, Morgan Hartz, Alysia Kaplan, Gloria Kaucic, Abbey Lipcsik, Sarah Masica, Molly McComish, Pat McLaughlin, Christina, Minjares, Louie Morici, Sara Needham, Dan Neilsen, Zika Okoye, Anthony Pero, Clem Piau, Lilliana Rivera, Lynn Schnittke, Maura Stewart, Matt Varhola, and Jake Waler.