Baggett_webChristy Baggett, Anthony Lab
Office:  W341
Phone:
Email: cbaggett17@jcu.edu
I received my B.S. in Zoology from Oregon State University in 2012. After graduation I worked at Oregon State as a biological technician assisting with studies on NW stream amphibians as well as conducting my own research. I studied the effects of male courtship pheromones on female choice in red-legged salamanders. For my Master’s thesis, I will be working on the behavior of red-backed salamanders with Dr. Anthony.

DavidBioWebsite_v2David Bartholow, Sheil Lab
Office: W311
Phone:  216.397.1569
Email: dbartholow12@jcu.edu
I received my B.S. in Environmental Science from John Carroll in 2012.  My research interests are in the ecology of fungi, reptiles and amphibians.  As an undergraduate I created the John Carroll University Fungal Collection and surveyed the mushrooms of local parks. My current research attempts to understand the spread of the disease amphibian chytridiomycosis on small spatial scales.

Bolton_webSarah Bolton, Saporito Lab
Office:  W112
Phone:  216.397.6207
Email:  sbolton14@jcu.edu
I graduated from JCU with a B.S. in Biology in 2014. As an undergraduate, I spent 3 years working as a Research Assistant in the Neuroscience Lab of Drs. Wideman and Murphy.  I am pursuing my M.S. in Dr. Ralph Saporito’s lab where I plan to study how variation in alkaloid-based chemical defenses of poison frogs relate to defense against predation.

Alex_Cameron_webAlex Cameron, Anthony Lab
Office:  W341
Phone:  216.397.6206
Email: acameron15@jcu.edu
I received my B.S. in Environmental Science from John Carroll University in 2014. I have worked on a variety of projects that include a phylogeography study of the black throated – green warbler, general amphibian surveys and a microcosm study examining interactions between the red back salamander and an invasive earthworm. For my thesis work I will be investing patterns of gene flow between populations of Red Back salamanders inhabiting fragmented environments.

CEddy_smCameron Eddy, Anthony Lab
Office:  W311
Phone: 216.397.1569
Email: ceddy16@jcu.edu
I earned a B.S. from Allegheny College in 2012 with a double major in Biology and Environmental Science and a minor in German. My undergraduate thesis focused on eavesdropping in a non-social species. I spent the past year doing field research around North America and am starting a Master’s here this fall.  For my Master’s thesis, I will be working in Dr. Anthony’s lab studying salamanders.

SONY DSCMeaghan Gade, Saporito Lab
Office: W112
Phone: 216.397.6207
Email: mgade16@jcu.edu
I received a B.S. degree in Zoology, Conservation and Biodiversity from Auburn University in 2013. I will be working in Dr. Ralph Saporito’s lab, researching female mate choice in the strawberry poison frog, Oophaga pumilio.

Hovey_webKyle Hovey, Saporito Lab
Office: W112
Phone: 216.397.6207
Email: khovey17@jcu.edu
I received a B.S. degree in Biology from The Pennsylvania State University in 2014. My previous research experience has focused on the ecology of deep-sea communities and kinematics of spider locomotion in relation to limb autotomy. I am now working in Dr. Saporito’s lab, investigating the antimicrobial activity of poison frog alkaloids for my Master’s thesis.

Anjali_smAnjali Karunatt, Johnson Lab
Office:  W342
Phone:
Email: akarunatt15@jcu.edu
I graduated with a degree in Microbiology and Zoology from M.G. University in India.  I will be working in Dr. Johnson’s lab on the role of interferons in immune function.

Kim Peterson-Daut, Sheil Lab
Office: W342
Phone:
Email: kdaut16@jcu.edu
I received a B.S from the University of Maryland-College Park in Physiology-Neurobiology. I am interested in studying Parasitology, especially within the field of veterinary medicine.

Andras_Ponti_webAndras Ponti, Johnson Lab
Office: W114
Phone:  216.397.6263
Email: aponti13@jcu.edu
I received my B.S. in Biology from John Carroll University in 2014. My thesis research will examine the ability to enhance interferon signaling as a means to induce apoptosis of human cancer cells.

Sagarin_smKathleen Sagarin, Sheil Lab
Office: W341
Phone:
Email: ksagarin16@jcu.edu
I graduated in 2012 from McGill University with a BSc. in Biology and a minor in Geology. I’m interested in studying turtle phylogenetics with Dr. Sheil.

Valerie_Wagner_webValerie Wagner, Sheil Lab
Office: W342
Phone:
Email: vwagner17@jcu.edu
I earned my bachelor’s degree at Pennsylvania State University-Erie in 2013 with a minor in Psychology.  I am currently pursuing my Master’s degree at JCU to deepen my understanding of Biology.  My professional goal is to become a Physician’s Assistant.

julie ziemba - jcuprofile-smJulie Ziemba, Anthony Lab
Office:  W112
Phone: 216.397.6207
Email: jziemba09@jcu.edu
I completed my B.S. in Biology at John Carroll University in 2009. Following graduation, I worked as a project assistant for a Lyme disease ecology lab at the Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies in Millbrook, NY. My thesis research will examine interactions between Plethodon cinereus and invasive earthworms.