Daniel Dlugos, Drenovsky Lab
Office: W239
Phone:  216.397.1720
Email:  ddlugos15@jcu.edu
I graduated from Cleveland State University in 2010 with a Bachelor of Science in biology and a minor in chemistry.  My interests are in invasive plant species.

CEddy_smCameron Eddy, Anthony Lab
Office:  W311
Phone: 216.397.1569
Email: ceddy16@jcu.edu
I earned a B.S. from Allegheny College in 2012 with a double major in Biology and Environmental Science and a minor in German. My undergraduate thesis focused on eavesdropping in a non-social species. I spent the past year doing field research around North America and am starting a Master’s here this fall.  For my Master’s thesis, I will be working in Dr. Anthony’s lab studying salamanders.

SONY DSCMeaghan Gade, Saporito Lab
Office: W112
Phone: 216.397.6207
Email: mgade16@jcu.edu
I received a B.S. degree in Zoology, Conservation and Biodiversity from Auburn University in 2013. I will be working in Dr. Ralph Saporito’s lab, researching female mate choice in the strawberry poison frog, Oophaga pumilio.

Corey Gotowka, Johnson Lab
Office: W114
Phone:
Email:  cgotowka12@jcu.edu
I graduated in 2012 from John Carroll with a B.Sc. in Biology. For my honor’s thesis, I studied three recently discovered strains of cyanobacteria within the genus Scytonema from the Mojave Desert under the supervision of Dr. Jeff Johansen and Dr. Nicole Pietrasiak.  For my master’s degree, I will be working with Dr. Johnson on a project studying the effects of various small molecules on human immune system function.

Maria_smMaria Iannucci, Drenovsky Lab
Office: W239
Phone: 216.397.1720
Email: miannucciclerget15@jcu.edu
I received my M.S.E. in Life Science from Kent State University in 2010, and I worked as a high school science teacher before coming to John Carroll. I work in Dr. Drenovsky’s lab, and my research focuses on invasive aquatic plants. My primary research site is along the Russian River in California.

Kortney Jaworski, Anthony Lab
Office:  W112
Phone:  216.397.6207
Email:  kjaworski15@jcu.edu

I received my B.S. from Ohio University in Wildlife & Conservation Biology in 2011.  As an undergraduate, I worked with Dr. Willem Roosenburg and Dr. Don Miles on herpetological research. For my thesis, I will be working with Dr. Carl Anthony & Dr. Cari Hickerson on the behavior of P. cinereus.

Anjali_smAnjali Karunatt, Johnson Lab
Office:  W342
Phone:
Email: akarunatt15@jcu.edu
I graduated with a degree in Microbiology and Zoology from M.G. University in India.  I will be working in Dr. Johnson’s lab on the role of interferons in immune function.

Meghan Kelley, Sheil Lab
Office:  W311
Phone:  216.397.1569
Email:  mdkelley15@jcu.edu
I received a B.S. degree in History of Science in 2010 and a B.S. degree in Zoology in 2011 from Michigan State University.  I also completed the pharmacy technician’s program through CVS Pharmacy in 2012. My research at John Carroll will focus on predator-prey interactions within or affecting specific turtle species, possibly as related to conservation.

Alison Minerovic, Johansen Lab
Office: W341
Phone:
Email:  aminerovic15@jcu.edu
I completed my B.S. in zoology along with an undergraduate certificate in public health from Kent State University in 2012. I am interested in studying harmful algal blooms in freshwater lakes.

Sagarin_smKathleen Sagarin, Sheil Lab
Office: W341
Phone:
Email: ksagarin16@jcu.edu
I graduated in 2012 from McGill University with a BSc. in Biology and a minor in Geology. I’m interested in studying turtle phylogenetics with Dr. Sheil.

Andrew Schafer, Johnson Lab
Office:  W114
Phone:
Email:  aschafer12@jcu.edu
I graduated from John Carroll University in 2012 with my B.Sc. in Biology.  For my Master’s degree, I will be studying under Dr. Erin Johnson, focusing on the effects of organic compounds on  transcription factors.

Josh Traub, Saporito Lab
Office:  W112
Phone:  216.397.6207
Email:  jtraub15@jcu.edu
I received my B.S. in biology from Loyola University in Chicago in 2010.  Subsequently, I worked at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago in the division of amphibians and reptiles.  My research will focus on aposematism in the dendrobatid poison frog, Oophaga pumilio.

julie ziemba - jcuprofile-smJulie Ziemba, Anthony Lab
Office:  W112
Phone: 216.397.6207
Email: jziemba09@jcu.edu
I completed my B.S. in Biology at John Carroll University in 2009. Following graduation, I worked as a project assistant for a Lyme disease ecology lab at the Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies in Millbrook, NY. My thesis research will examine interactions between Plethodon cinereus and invasive earthworms.